Wax Chat: How Do You Extinguish Candles?

Wax Chat 1.

How Do You Extinguish Your Candles?  

candle

 

There are many different ways that are known to extinguish candles, let’s discuss them!

 

  1. Blowing them out-

I personally believe this is probably the most messiest and dangerous way to put out your candles. When blowing out candles the pressure of your breath can send scolding wax everywhere which not only creates a huge mess but can cause severe burns.  No one likes a long night in the E.R. or a night long event scraping dried wax droplets off of surfaces. I personally have accidentally spilled wax on my carpeted floors and believe me what a headache that was!!

 

  1. Using the Candles Lid-

I used to extinguish my candles this way and on rare occasion still do.. I know what you are thinking.. “But what about the wax losing its scent to the smoke???”  When I used this method I never noticed my candles lacking their scent throw or smelling of smoke when they burned.

There are many out there that say this isn’t the way to extinguish your candles. Others say it’s the best way and are what the lids are made for. It’s all about what suits you. I had a mishap where the pressure from the suction the smoke created broke the rim of the glass when I removed the lid from the candle the next morning.Glass went shot out everywhere. I went on to look for another way when this happened in fear of breaking another candle and was tired of the tons of smoke this technique left me with.

 

  1. “Candle Rock”-

I don’t believe this has a specific name, so we will call it the “candle rock”.It’s     when the candle has enough of a wax pool and you maneuver and tilt the candle in     your hands moving the wax pool around to smother the flames. I have heard about  this procedure on YouTube and have even watched it be done correctly. If you are  careful it can be done efficiently. If not it can be a chaotic mess.. burning your hands  and dirtying your candle jar and floor in the process.

4.   Candle Snuffer-

Ah the candle snuffer that sits on the end of mantels just adds a touch of class to your decor, don’t you think?  I have read and read on candle snuffers and let me tell you if I had a nickel for every time the word “Elegant” and “Refined” came up..  ugh, excuse me, back on topic. I have nothing against candle snuffers but to me they are clunky and take up space. They don’t fit the decor of my house and I think they add an ancient feel to a home, not elegance. If that’s your style, go for it!

Never having used one of these, I can’t give a true review on them other than what I have read which is that they tend to eliminate most of the smoke. Also I read others complain that the bell of the snuffers were too heavy for the stick/handle and tend to break off. So this method is up to you.

 

  1. Wick Dipper-

Saving the best for last, the wick dipper is probably my favorite technique. Being a newbie to a wick dipper, I had to learn the trick of the trade. I was afraid of breaking my wicks bending them in half to push them into the wax. Pushing the wick into the wax pool to extinguish the flame at first didn’t make since to me as I thought this would make the wax’s fragrance smoky, but once I saw that there wasn’t any smoke I was very pleased. Also this reinforces the wick and prepares it for the next burn. This does take a bit longer than just throwing the lid on top but taking care of your candles lets you get the most out of your candles which are too expensive to let go to waste.

 

Until Next Chat,

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Wax Chat: How Do You Extinguish Candles?

  1. jaybird says:

    This is a good question. I use the candle lid method 99% of the time. It’s convenient and eliminates wafting smoke. If there’s no jar lid, I use the snuffer, but it can be annoying to hover over the wick and wait for the smokiness to dissapate. I’m usually too lazy for this method. Does the wick dipper cause relighting problems bc of wax build up?

    Like

    • themeltdownblog says:

      On lazy days or when the candle is almost at its end i will use the lid too. No, the wick dipper just barely coats the wick with a thin coat, its actually not noticeable to the eye when you go to light it the next light, and i have noticed it actually helped me not have those little ember pieces fly off my wicks as much inbetween trimmings because the wick is coated with the wax so it isnt so dry when you go to light it. Hope this helps!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

