2016 Fall Melting Series- Fall Tag, Post 1

20111106-fall Fun

Hello there friends! This will be a new post series that myself, and a bunch of old and new blogging friends will be engaging in this autumn season. We will be covering our fall wax melts, candles, recipes, decorations, and more. Please feel free to join us in the comments when we post by telling us what you are melting or creating or loving this fall. If you are a blogger and would like to join us please let us know and we will send you the schedule of posts. Please welcome the following bloggers and check out their posts as well which will generally post Monday and Friday starting September and ending the day after Thanksgiving (some may post on different days or times):

 

Amanda at ThriftyPolished

Ashley at Bohemian Sassenach 

Deb at It’s Always Something

Jessica at The Meltdown Blog

Julie at The Redolent Mermaid

Lauren at LoloLovesScents

Lindsey at Little Bit Of Lindsey

Liz at Furianne

Sandra at Finger Candy

Stephanie at Imperfectly Painted

Sunnee at Our Sunny Life

 

To kick off the first post we will do a Fall Tag!

 

1) What is your favorite thing about Fall?

The transition in the weather from Summer to Fall with the cooler and shorter nights. The feeling in the air from the crisp breeze and rustling leaves that have fallen from the trees. Pumpkins of course!

l

2) Do you get fall colors where you live? 

Yes, there are a lot of trees in our state which make for colorful autumn scenery. (also means lots of raking)

 

3) Favorite Fall scent?

My favorite Fall scent would have to be Marshmallow Fireside, Cider Lane Type or Marshmallow Pumpkin Latte by Bath and Body Works.

img_0159-2

 

4) Favorite Fall food or drink? 

Halloween Oreo’s (Though these are not GF and I should not be going near these, they are still a weakness of mine this time a year)

cf8b0065de4d

5) Football yay or nay? 

Well my husband is a big football fan. So the teams we support are the Oregon Ducks, Chicago Bears and Arkansas Razorbacks. Biggest rivals are the Green Bay Packers. That is a bad word in our house!

 

6) Do you rake, jump in, or burn piles of leaves? 

All three..haha is that acceptable? As a child I remember raking for what seemed like hours into a huge pile just to turn around and make a complete mess jumping into them. I am most certain the smell of leaf fires will be forever burned into my brain.

More Halloween Clip Art Illustrations at http://www.ClipartOf.com

7) Haunted house or corn maze? 

Corn Maze! No haunted houses for this chicken! I have a horrible fear of being chased and I jump at just about anything so I don’t see the fun of being scared.

 

8) Have you ever gone on a hayride?

Multiple times! As a kid I remember several bonfires my church youth group would put on and we would go on hayrides. Many fond memories of being huddled up under shared blankets (one of those nights sharing a hay bale with who would be my future husband and sneaking handholds) and everyone trying to spook each other as we rode through the night.

 

9) Cider or hot chocolate?

Hot chocolate! Though I do rather enjoy a good wassail cider around the winter/holiday months.

 

10) Carve a pumpkin or eat a pumpkin pie?

This one is easy! Carve! I love to carve pumpkins with my family each year. If you don’t like carving because of the messy insides just buy a plastic (preferably hollow) or foam pumpkin and carve from it. Not only are you skipping the mess but you can also keep your creation when you are finished as it will not rot!

img_0161-1

Top left to right: Tinkerbell, ghost, Bottom left to right: another angle of ghost and witch and her cauldron

 

 

11) Do you dress up for Halloween? 

Sometimes. I did last year as me and my family took my nephew trick-or-treating and we all went as super heroes. We simply wore a super hero shirt and I finished mine off with a cape; I of course was Batman.

 

12) Candy corn yay or nay?

Yes but in small very tiny portions. It’s good don’t get me wrong but it will also make you sick in a blink of an eye on account of how sweet it is. One piece at a time.

candy corn

13) Favorite Halloween movie?

Ahh what to pick, what to pick.. I am going to have to go with Hocus Pocus. Close 2nd is the Halloween Town I and Halloween Town II. The Sanderson Sisters are my favorite though!

“Oh look, Another glorious morning.. Makes me Sick!” -Winifred

 

14) Scariest Movie? 

I don’t know about the scariest but ones that have still scarred me to this day that leave me wondering what may be lurking in the dark of my bathroom or leaves me terrified of static on the television would be The Grudge and The Ring. Now I don’t believe any of it is real but after you watch these types of movies it gets to your imagination and can terrify me for months.  That is why I chose a long time ago to stop watching scary movies and to keep it out of my life.

 

15) Halloween or Thanksgiving? 

Thanksgiving because you spend it with family and it helps you realize that you really are truly blessed and to count your blessings.

 

16) Do you watch the Macy’s Parade? 

Yes we normally have it on as we get ready for the day and get last minute Thanksgiving meal prep done.

 

17) Apple Pie or Pumpkin Pie?

Pumpkin!

 

18) White or dark meat?

White meat for me please!

 

19) Jellied or real cranberry sauce?

I don’t eat either but if I had to pick I would want my aunts cranberry sauce that she makes.

 

20) Will you host or travel for Thanksgiving this year?

We will be traveling back home this year for Thanksgiving to visit with his family and mine. We lucked out with both families living in the same town!

 

I am very excited to get started on this blogging series, So join in with me and these other amazing bloggers to get you in the mood and ready for Fall!

 

How about you? Join us by giving some of your fall tag answers in the comments! Next post we will feature our fall melting stash.

8 thoughts on “2016 Fall Melting Series- Fall Tag, Post 1

  1. amandac99 says:

    Hi Jessica! I really enjoyed reading your post, especially the anecdote about holding hands with your future hubby on a hayride. 🙂 My husband and I were high school sweethearts too and participated in many church functions together.
    Glad you are participating in the series and I look forward to reading the rest of your posts!

    Like

    • themeltdownblog says:

      Hello Amanda! I appreciate you taking the time to stop by and read my post! Thank you! To me there is nothing like the love of high school sweethearts. I look forward to posting the rest of them for you all!

      Like

    • themeltdownblog says:

      Hey Sunnee! Well thank you! My mother and I have always enjoyed a good craft together so when Halloween comes around we have always carved pumpkins as a tradition. My absolute favorite being the year we carved Dobby from Harry Potter! If only I could find the picture. I really enjoyed reading your post and answers, very creative with the peanuts and candy corn! I cannot wait to see what everyone has to share for this series, it will be loads of fun!

      Like

  2. jaybird says:

    I didn’t want to influence my answers by reading before I posted so I’m just now noticing the Jack o lantern shots. Very cool! I’m lacking in those skills and usually do a basic face.

    Like

  3. Julie Johnson says:

    Oh man! I thought I had posted a comment but I came back and did not see one. May bad. I have never had Halloween Oreo cookies. I am sorely tempted to get some but you see… I do this thing where I get a pack of Oreos and I demolish a whole row of them and then I realize I ate like 3 days worth of calories. In one sitting. So deadly good. Have you ever had Midnight Rum balls where you crush them up and add rum and stuff and roll them into balls of delightful disaster? I love your pumpkins. I carved a Hagrid one year that everyone thought was Bob Marley. I think I will try to foam ones this time. I kinda want to keep them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • themeltdownblog says:

      Totally laughing out loud about the Bob Marley comment right now! Poor Hagrid lol. He would have went great with our Dobby! I haven’t ever tried the rum balls, sounds interesting though! Yeah…a package of Halloween Oreo’s are a disaster waiting to happen even though they really aren’t any different than the normal Oreo’s. (There’s just something about them!) yes! You need to try the plastic pumpkin carving, I’d recommend trying to find a hollow one if possible that way you don’t have foam bits flying everywhere.

      Like

Leave a Reply

