Fall Melting Series- Post 5, Fall Music and Melts

Fall Melting Series- Post 5, Fall Music and Melts

img_0240

 

Brand:Yankee Candle Co.

Scent: Honey Clementine

Product: Wax Melt Tart

Warmer Used: Half in my Glade and half in my tealight Tea Pot warmer.

Online Scent Description: Refreshing orange takes a sweet turn in this honey-dipped citrus delight.”

Throw: Very light

img_0235

Usually I wouldn’t dare go near a honey scent but to me this gave off a sweet almost  steaming tea like fragrance with a squeeze of citrus stirred in that would warm you to your toes on a chilly fall night. I didn’t mind this being a light thrower to add a soft aroma to our bedroom to relax to on a lovely Sunday afternoon of cleaning and Netflix marathon watching. If you are anything like me on loathing honey scents, don’t let the name of this fragrance intimidate you.

I recommend paring this tart with a candle or using it on a day when you prefer a more lax  scent.

Fall Music/Tunes:

I won’t lie.. this one had me stumped. Fall music? Is that a thing? After thinking about it awhile the music that comes to mind are Halloween tunes and are not really what you would call “fall”. Sorry folks. Around this time of year there are many songs that play in a loop in my head. Some of them being:


 1) Love Potion #9 by The Searchers (1959)

“I took my troubles down to Madame Ruth
You know that gypsy with the gold-capped tooth
She’s got a pad down on Thirty-Fourth and Vine
Sellin’ little bottles of Love Potion Number Nine

I told her that I was a flop with chics
I’ve been this way since 1956
She looked at my palm and she made a magic sign
She said “What you need is Love Potion Number Nine”

She bent down and turned around and gave me a wink
She said “I’m gonna make it up right here in the sink”
It smelled like turpentine, it looked like Indian ink
I held my nose, I closed my eyes, I took a drink

I didn’t know if it was day or night

I started kissin’ everything in sight
But when I kissed a cop down on Thirty-Fourth and Vine
He broke my little bottle of Love Potion Number Nine

I held my nose, I closed my eyes, I took a drink

I didn’t know if it was day or night
I started kissin’ everything in sight
But when I kissed a cop down on Thirty-Fourth and Vine
He broke my little bottle of Love Potion Number Nine
Love Potion Number Nine
Love Potion Number Nine
Love Potion Number Nine”

(Who am I kidding, I sing this one year around!)

In the spirit of all the Halloween tuneage I had to melt/burn a fun Halloween scent!

I chose:

img_0261

Brand: Yankee Candle

Scent: Candy Corn

Product: 14.5 oz One Wick Medium Jar

Throw: None.

Online Scent Description: “The familiar sweet scent of candy corn is a fond reminder of the Halloween fun!” 

Two Yankee products in one post!? *Gasp* Pretty shocked myself because this candle was chosen on a whim and when it was time to sit and put this post together I then realized what had happened.

I had been savoring this candle from last year’s collection from a sale online. The packaging was too cute to pass up so even if I decided not to burn it the candle could still be used to decorate with.  Well it called out to me with it’s smell so sweet and nostalgic that it tempted me into lighting it.

Disappointed though on how this candle has burned and given no throw whatsoever. Once lit the wick will flicker and dance bright for a good 30 min before fading away to almost nothing and downing itself into the wax pool. I have tried a few different methods on fixing this and I am just about to give up because this is my second Yankee Candle in a role that has done this to me on the first few burns. Am I cursed with some kind of Yankee Candle curse?

2) I Put A Spell On You- Bette Midler (Winifred-Hocus Pocus) Version 

I put a spell on you and now you’re mine
You can’t stop the things I do, I ain’t lyin’
It’s been 300 years, right down to the day
Now the witch is back and there’s hell to pay

I put a spell on you and now you’re mine

Hello, Salem, my name’s Winifred, what’s yours?

I put a spell on you and now you’re gone
My whammy fell on you and it was strong
Your wretched little lives, have all been cursed
‘Cause of all the witches working, I’m the worst

I put a spell on you and now you’re mine

Watch out

If you don’t believe, you’d better get superstitious

Ask my sisters, ooh, she’s vicious
I put a spell on you, a wicked spell
I put a spell on you, sisters

Ah, say into pie, oppa mabey uppen die
Ah say into pie, oppa mabey uppen die
In kama koray, ah, ma
Hey, hi, say, bye, bye, bye bye

img_0262

At least it did make for fun pictures! 

3) Monster Mash by Bobby Pickett (1962) 

I was working in the lab late one night
When my eyes beheld an eerie sight
For my monster from his slab began to rise
And suddenly to my surprise

Chorus 

From my laboratory in the castle east
To the master bedroom where the vampires feast
The ghouls all came from their humble abodes
To get a jolt from my electrodes

Chorus
The zombies were having fun
The party had just begun
The guests included Wolf Man
Dracula and his son

The scene was rockin’, all were digging the sounds
Igor on chains, backed by his baying hounds
The coffin-bangers were about to arrive
With their vocal group, “The Crypt-Kicker Five”

Chorus

Out from his coffin, Drac’s voice did ring
Seems he was troubled by just one thing
He opened the lid and shook his fist
And said, “Whatever happened to my Transylvania twist?”

Chorus

Now everything’s cool, Drac’s a part of the band
And my monster mash is the hit of the land
For you, the living, this mash was meant too
When you get to my door, tell them only sent you

Then you can mash
Then you can monster mash
The monster mash
And do my graveyard smash
Then you can mash
You’ll catch on in a flash
Then you can mash
Then you can monster mash

Love Potion #9 and Monster Mash will always bring back many fond memories of me and my mom dressing up in our Halloween costumes and dancing around the house as we decorated our front porch for the incoming trick-or-treaters. These were two of the songs that were on a Halloween CD we would play on a loop as we greeted our guest with a giant black cauldron full of candy and silly Halloween toys. Ahh  memories.
What songs do you catch yourself humming along to during the fall months? Let me know below! Would love to hear from you! 
Until next melt,
17 thoughts on “Fall Melting Series- Post 5, Fall Music and Melts

  1. jaybird says:

    Maybe Yankee has put a spell on you in which you can’t smell any of their products? Actually, I’ve gotten a couple light throwers that I’ve been disappointed in myself lately. Including the Mountain Lake Yankee Candle that I was excited to try, bummed about that one:(
    I so love your teapot warmer and I’m crazy for honey scents, lol! I believe we have near opposite scent preferences,Jess. I have a Honey Clementine tart but I’m actually afraid of the orange note being overbearing, I nearly always get good tart throws, how’s the orange in it?
    Love the Bette Midler version of “I Put a Spell on you”,all versions of that song, actually.

    Liked by 1 person

    • themeltdownblog says:

      Haha it’s funny you mention the opposite scent preferences and being afraid of not liking the orange note because the citrus was probably my favorite note in this fragrance. Without it I would probably gag trying to melt this tart with it being straight honey. It is fun how everyone’s preferences differ though! That is what makes everyone different is that they are just unique in their own way. Hey, this just shows you though that I haven’t just had one bad experience with Yankee and then never gave them another chance and yes I totally agree that this is the best version of “I Put a Spell on You” that there is hands down.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Stephanie says:

    It’s such a shame with the Yankee tart and candles. I have similar luck with throw on theirs too lately, yet I keep holding out that I’ll get a good melt in the bunch. It hasn’t happened yet. Fun song picks for fall music too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • themeltdownblog says:

      Well thank you! Yes candy corn is the perfect picture prop around this time of year. My poor dad actually likes candy corn and what I used with my candle I didn’t put back in the bag that I had saved to give to him later. So when I gave it to him he thought I finally started liking candy corn and ate some. I just told him I used it for a craft and left it simple lol

      Like

  3. Furianne says:

    I’m sorry you had a bad time with the wax. Honey clementine does sound like a lovely scent!
    Your songs are perfect for fall. I feel like from September-Halloween, any sort of spooky Halloween song qualifies as fall themed.
    I may or may not sing the Harry Potter version of Double Trouble during this season… <__>

    Liked by 1 person

  4. sunnee says:

    I love the flow of this post and how you mingled the melts and songs perfectly! Your memory of decorating the porch and dressing up for Halloween melted my heart ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

