Happy Halloween! Fall Fun Series

Happy Halloween

Song of the Witches: “Double, double toil and trouble”

(William Shakespeare – from Macbeth)

Double, double toil and trouble;
Fire burn and caldron bubble.
Fillet of a fenny snake,
In the caldron boil and bake;
Eye of newt and toe of frog,
Wool of bat and tongue of dog,
Adder’s fork and bling-worms sting,
Lizard’s leg and howlet’s wing,
For a charm of powerful trouble,
Like a hell-broth boil and bubble.
Double, double toil and trouble;
Fire burn and caldron bubble.
Cool it with a baboon’s blood,
Then the charm is firm and good.

 

(https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/43189)

 

Halloween Goodie Basket! 

20161027_190845

I put together a fun Halloween basket for my nephew every year. This year I didn’t have as much time to go all out which bummed me a bit but it is all the same since he will get loads of goodies from trick or treating in our home town, Halloween party at school and being spoiled from my grandparents so this is just a small but fun gift to give him for Halloween.

 

20161027_191131

So here is the spread! What you are still seeing (shadowed) in the Jack-O-Lantern is a little bit of fake spider web I put in the bottom to cushion so that the candy would sit up a bit in the bucket and add a bit of “scare” factor as he went through everything.

 

20161027_191255

The candy portion of the goodie basket. Now I know what you guys might be thinking.. umm where is all the candy? It is Halloween! Well guys.. here is the thing, my nephew is extremely picky and refuses to eat much including sweets. (cake, chocolate, ice cream, etc.) Wish I had that problem.. lol. So I got him bigger portions of what I knew he liked like gummies and skittles. Not to mention all of the candy he will receive trick-or-treating.

From Left to Right: Sweet & Sour Skittles (Didn’t realize this until it was too late that these were sour.. so he may not like these. Edit: Yes he let me know I picked out the wrong skittles haha) Starburst Gummies and Krabby Patties Colors Candy.

 

20161027_191210

The toys/extras from the Halloween basket! No joke his favorite part from last years basket was a few Halloween pencils I threw in as extras, so this year I was sure to buy a full pack for the sweet boy.

From left to right: Scooby Doo and Mickey Mouse Club House Halloween Coloring & Activity book, Halloween Pattern Pencils, Blow Glow Halloween Balloon, Stretchy Rubber Skeletons. Top: Halloween Whack-A-Pack Self Inflating Balloons.

Zombie Antidote from House of Usher Wax Museum.

Online Scent Description: Fresh Pineapples, pears and Coconut”

A very tropical, fruity scent which is unexpected for a Halloween scent/shape. Need a strong beach scent to take you back to the good ole summer days? Here is a melt for you. This brain tart threw strong for many hours (at least 6-7) before I turned the warmer off for the night. I loved the spooky ambiance the green wax pool gives off in the room from the bulb warmer which caused my bedroom walls to look like I was under water in a murky lake.

I hope you all have a wonderful Halloween, Stay safe, eat some yummy candy and melt something delicious!

Until Next Melt,

2 thoughts on “Happy Halloween! Fall Fun Series

  1. jaybird says:

    Such an awesome aunt and lucky nephew! I used to buy for my niece and nephews as well, but they’re so grown-up now that this is the first year none of them will be dressing up and trick-or-treating:( Oh well, I do pick up little things for them throughout the year that I know they like because it’s the role of a proper aunt:)
    The brain melt is very cool, I’d have been tempted to make a specimen display out of it and stick it under a glass globe or jar! Also, I appreciated the Macbeth prose, it’s my fave Shakespeare(tied with Julius Caesar) Happy Halloweeeeeeen!

    Liked by 1 person

    • themeltdownblog says:

      Hey it is still fun to gather and buy throughout the year. I love gifting presents! I hate it that I won’t be going to watch him trick or treat this year and that I won’t be passing out any candy this year.. bummer on both sides. Oh well I guess, that is the fun of growing up. I loved the way this brain looked, even more excited for Lindsey’s brain melt for this evening! I’ll have to be sure to send you a quick pic before throwing it in the warmer! Happy Halloween to you too Friend!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

