Week of Thanks- Fall Fun Series

As we prepare for the week of Thanksgiving everyone will be busy gathering up supplies to make all the big delicious meals, scrambling around to make it to every event with the stress to bring the perfect dish or packing up and traveling to visit family whether it be near or far. We must not forget in all the chaos the most important part of this holiday, which is just to be thankful and spending time with the ones you love.

 

What I have decided to bring this year to both sides of the family is a simple pie recipe I found called No-Bake Lemon Cloud Pie. My grandma is a huge lemon pie fan so I figured this would be a hit.

No- Bake Lemon Cloud Pie

  • 1 prepared 9-inch (6 oz.) shortbread crumb crust
  • 1 can (14 oz.) NESTLÉ® CARNATION® Sweetened Condensed Milk
  • 1/2 cup (about 3 medium lemons) fresh lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon grated lemon peel
  • 2 cups frozen whipped topping, thawed
  • Grated lemon peel or lemon slices (optional)

BEAT sweetened condensed milk, lemon juice and peel in small mixer bowl until combined. Fold in whipped topping; pour into crust. Cover; refrigerate for 2 hours or until set. Garnish with lemon peel.

http://www.verybestbaking.com/recipes/134716/no-bake-lemon-cloud-pie/

I did a test run of this pie over the weekend and it went well but I believe I will lower the amount of the lemon juice (personal preference) as it was a bit tart for me. My husband loved it though!

Since I will be traveling for Thanksgiving I will bring the supplies needed and make it at my moms house. So pre-made graham cracker crust it is!

Melts I have been melting this weekend:

Farm Apple Pumpkin by Better Homes and Gardens Reminded me more of a craft store than pumpkin and apple. Maybe more of the fall garlands you would find dangling in the isle with dried fruits and a dash of cinnamon. 

Pecan Pumpkin Cake by Mainstays- This had a bit of a sweet zucchini bread note with fresh pecans baked right in. As you can tell by the picture, Mainstays is made with a different, softer wax and is a bit messy to get out. Though it has always thrown well for me, I’ve never enjoyed the process of removing this wax from the clam shell on account of how messy it is.

 

Have a safe and Happy Thanksgiving!

5 thoughts on “Week of Thanks- Fall Fun Series

Leave a Reply

