When Life Throws You Curve-Balls.. Cook?

 

Wax I Have Enjoyed Over The Past Few Days Include:

Very Merry Zucchini from Rainbow Melts

Snow Fairy from Wild Vine Soapery

Grey Stuff from Wild Vine Soapery

Strawberry Crème Brulee from Rose Girls

Fresh Picked Strawberry from Rose Girls

Ginger Ale from Super Tarts Potion Pack

Strawberry Vanilla Bean Cupcakes & Cookies from Front Porch Candle Co

 

 

Candles That I Have Indulged In:

Cranberry Pear by Yankee Candle

Pomegranate Prosecco Punch by Bath & Body Works

Vanilla Laundry Front Porch Candle Co.

 

There has been a lot of action in my kitchen as of late. Sure I have always cooked but something has put a spark in me to get in the kitchen and experiment with new recipes. Whether it be recipes that are creative, simple, healthier, fun, artsy, budget friendly, 10 minute meals, etc.  I have enjoyed reading them all.  I’ve always wanted to be the cook that makes everything from scratch but just falls short because I’m busy (aren’t we all) and don’t always have the time and energy for lavish dinners. So I do what I can to put a nice dish on our table most nights but I’m trying to do even better to enjoy the process instead of viewing it as a chore because I really do love cooking. Cooking and burning candles has really been a good stress relief for me here recently.

One afternoon on a car ride home together I had asked my husband a few things that he may want to eat for dinner the upcoming week so I could have a plan when I go to the store. After some thought chicken pot pie came to mind. My first concern: the breaded pastry. Sure it doesn’t take too long to whip up a doughy mixture and call it dough but I wanted something that would still taste delicious but be super easy that while it is cooking I can work on the filling. I remember as a child my mom would make chicken pot pies and place a canned biscuit on top of each personal pie which was a brilliant idea but maybe something thinner this time. That is when I ran across this recipe on allrecipes.com

 

Easy As Chicken Pot Pie:

  • 1 sheet frozen puff pastry, thawed (I used Pillsbury Crescent rolls by accident the first time but for when I make it again I bought the Crescent Dough Sheet)
  • 1 1/3 cup frozen peas and carrots (I used a bag of frozen mixed veggies instead that also included corn)
  • 2/3 cup frozen corn kernels
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • ¼ cup all-purpose flour (GF Flour works if anyone was curious!)
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 teaspoon crumbled dried thyme or to taste
  • 2 cups diced cooked chicken
  • Salt and ground black pepper to taste

 

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
  2. Use a pizza cutter to slice the puff pastry into 8 equal-sized strips. Weave the strips into a square lattice and place on a greased baking sheet. (if you use crescent rolls for this it will give you trouble because of the pre-cut lines and fall apart everytime you go to lift the pastry.)
  3. Bake in preheated oven until it just starts to brown, 10 to 15 minutes. Remove from oven and set aside.
  4. Place the frozen peas, carrots, and corn in a microwave-safe bowl and cook in the microwave until cooked but still firm, 5 to 10 minutes.
  5. Melt the butter in a skillet over medium heat. Stir in the flour and cook for 1 minute. Pour in the milk and stir while cooking until the mixture is smooth. Add the thyme and continue to cook and stir until the mixture thickens. Stir in the cooked vegetables and the chicken. Season with salt and pepper. Cook until heated through, stirring frequently, 5 to 7 minutes.
  6. Pour the chicken mixture into a 2-quart baking dish. Lay the pastry lattice on top. Bake in the preheated oven until the crust is golden brown, 10 to 15 minutes.

 

Tip: I added a little Mrs. Dash Table Blend for taste

As you see my weaving was NOT perfect because it kept falling apart on me but I still think it came out pretty neat. Excuse the middle, I had started to cut into it and stopped just in time before I realized I hadn’t got a picture! 


This recipe turned out great! Delicious! I will try making a gluten free breaded topping but for now I picked off the topping and ate a bit of the filling. The leftovers were even good, just pop it back in the oven (or toaster oven like we did) to reheat and to make the pastry crisp on top again.

 

Have you tried a new recipe recently? What is one of your favorites?

 

Until Next burn,

8 thoughts on “When Life Throws You Curve-Balls.. Cook?

  1. jaybird says:

    Awesome job on that weaving, I don’t think I would have attempted it. if you can’t beat those curve balls, cook up a storm around them.
    I’m excited that you shared this. I need the inspiration to get back into cooking again, I used to enjoy it then lost any desire for it with the stress and sadness of the past year. Thankfully, my husband picks up the slack…a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

    • themeltdownblog says:

      So glad you enjoyed it! Well I’m excited to share a few more that I’ve been making that I liked! It has really helped me also with everything that has been going on here recently with life to just kind of get away and get creative. I love working with my hands whether it be crafting, cooking or art.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Furianne says:

    Aah! Such a delicious, lovely Chicken Pot Pie! I don’t cook too often, as my husband is the one who loves to cook, but I definitely bake.

    My favorite recipe that I’ve started making this past year is the rolled chicken & dumplings recipe from Alton Brown. It may be a bit tedious to make but it’s soooo worth it once you sit down and eat.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sandra Lewrey says:

    Mmm, that looks yummy – hope it tasted yummy, too. 🙂

    You know, the best thing I’ve done in years is to stop stressing myself out about cooking. I was like you – I always wanted to do everything from scratch (stupid stock, lame fresh pasta, infuriating – but delicious – ice cream.) But because everything I did took FOREVER, as well as dirtied every single dish I owned, cooking became this horrible thing that I just dreaded. When I just accepted that convenience food items are not the work of the devil and that a meal that took me half an hour was just as good as one that took two hours, things got much easier. I still don’t LOVE cooking, but it’s not this huge event any more, AND we probably eat better (because we’re not eating takeout all the time because I get panic attacks looking at the stove!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • themeltdownblog says:

      That is very true! I knew some would think well that isn’t making it the healthiest or making it from scratch but it is like you said convenient and not too bad for you (I got the low sodium and low fat kind too!) so it was A plus in my book. Tasty and took a reasonable amount of time. Its the long drawn out recipes that have like 20 ingredients and like 50 steps that I am running away from in a heart beat. Aint nobody got time for that! Especially when I am getting home about 6 every night from work and have to do other things than just cook.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Julie Johnson says:

    I love chicken (or beef) pot pie and have been getting my fix from frozen ones that I heat up in the microwave for lunch but this looks way better than that!! I hope you are doing ok, and that your love of cooking and sweet burning candles are bringing you some small joys. I have had a rough week and have retreated a little from being as busy as I used to be. And dinners have been very simple. Roast chicken (which then made a casserole the next day) and last night was spaghetti. Like you, by the time I get home from work I am beat and need an easy meal. On the weekends I don’t mind doing something a little more special though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • themeltdownblog says:

      Yes I do enjoy trying new recipes on the weekends where I have time to play around with them and when I actually feel like cooking more involved meals. Yes I am doing the best I can for now, thank you for asking. Lots of things just happening at once. Family members in the hospital and family emergencies while that is just the beginning so hoping this year will turn around for the good soon!

      Like

Leave a Reply

