My Crazy Collections and Obsessions

After reading Jay’s collection post and speaking with her on things we both collected it inspired me to make a post about some of the things that I too  collected.

It would be impossible to capture everything in life that I show an interest for or have started to compile together yet maybe never picked up on or just have bits and pieces to where it’s hard to call a ‘collection’.

 
Funko Pop’s 

These are just a few of the Funko’s me and my husband own. Most are either put away that we have yet to pull out from our move or are randomly placed throughout our home. As you see, my pops make it out of the box so I can display them on my desk at home. Hagrid and The Mad Hatter are definitely my favorites. I really enjoy gathering these as it shares both our interest and it’s fun scouting them out together.

Side note: Yes, that is Sherlock, (mine), John Watson (Hubby’s)

 

 

Pulling out my tub of Bath & Body Works Pocket Backs & Germ-X’s, I was pleasantly surprised to find that I’ve dwindled down my stash quiet a bit. Not by using all of it but mostly gifting it as I knew I would never get through it all myself.

These were my go to when going into a B&BW when they were 5 for $6 which is how I wracked up on them so quickly. Not to mention I am a bit of a germ freak. Clearly my favorites used to be Sparkling Pink Champagne & Pumpkin Marshmallow Latte.

 

To help keep this post waxy related, I figured it would be best to also share my candles! These are stored in my bedroom closet for easy access.

Brands include Bath & Body Works, Diamond Ring Candle, Yankee Candle and Front Porch Candle Co. 16 candles in total which is a number I’m comfortable with instead of that number being piled up in the 30’s or 40+.

My favorite Bath & Body Work candles are London Calling and Marshmallow Fireside.

 

*Not pictured-mini air hockey table, Love Letter Batman Edition, Manacola.*

Games, games, games! Love them!

Another really fun thing me and my husband enjoy collecting and playing together are board games!  I love the uniqueness and story behind each game. We used to have a game store in town that we visited often before it closed down that we really miss.

My recommendations from above would be:

  • Love Letter (Red Draw String Bag)
  •  Love Letter Hobbit Edition (Green Draw String Bag)
  • (Not pictured, forgot it) Love Letter Batman Edtion
  • Jaipur- (right side, beside Ticket to Ride)
  • Ticket to Ride
  • Sheriff of Nottingham
  • Monopoly Deal

 

Other Interest of Mine That I Collect Almost Anything In:



Wizard of Oz

Anyone else have a weird obsession with these little refrigerator magnets? The more I can get on my fridge to look at; the better! I should have taken them off my fridge and laid them out in one single picture but that would have disrupted all of the pictures and knick knacks we have adorning our fridge.

 

Just stare at it.. go on, take a moment. I’ll come back.
You had your moment? Good. It’s beautiful!

When I laid eyes on this gorgeous plate while shopping on my honeymoon in a little store we had stopped in to check out which  I believe to now named Dicks 5 & 10, I knew it was coming home with me! This is also where I picked up my Wizard Of Oz magnet. The plate is proudly displayed on a frame stand on my kitchen counter.

 

Anything Alice & Wonderland 

 

If you have read my blog for an length of time you also know I have a thing for Alice & Wonderland. Pretty much anything Whimsical. Dorothy and her wild tornado, colorful adventure to Oz than to Alice and her crazy adventure down the rabbit hole speaking to inanimate objects, growing and shrinking while being chased by an evil queen… wait why do I like this again? Though Mad Hatter is enough to stick around for sure!

Funny enough, this plate was also purchased on my honeymoon! Two to be exact. Also not allowed to be feasted upon.

The Statue Of Liberty 

Oddly enough since I’ve never been to New York, I am very fascinated with the Statue of Liberty. I love seeing pictures and learning more about Lady Liberty. I’ve always wanted a little greenish/blue mini statue you always see as a souvenir.

The one I have made due with for now is supposed to be a ornament from Dr.Who of the Weeping Angel when the angels took over. I’d prefer a real one though.

Recently I was surprised to find a Statue of Liberty  puzzle at the Dollar tree so I also swooprd that up to frame soon.
A little all over the place with my craziness but it is what it is! What are some of your interest and collection’s? Let me know!

5 thoughts on “My Crazy Collections and Obsessions

  1. jaybird says:

    Fun! I love to inspire😊
    Kick-butt display of assorted Funkos, I was admiring the Star Wars in particular until you mentioned Sherlock and Watson. Does the Dr. look like Martin Freeman? Cuz then I’m gonna need him.
    My niece has started collecting the pocket bacs and cute holders, she laid out her collection and sent me a pic not too long ago, It was a proud moment!
    We love board games, cards, strategy games, lawn games of all kinds in my family too. Just played Forbidden Island with the kids the other day, good stuff. At one point, I was grabbing old board games from antique shops, but needed to talk myself out of that habit. Get this, I have 2 Wizard of Oz board games. One from Front Porch classics games and A Wiz of Oz version of Life.

    You lost me on Alice, though. I really appreciate Lewis Carroll as a writer, but have always found Alice’s story creepy. I’ve never been a fan, it doesn’t help that most of the movie renditions stink.
    What else? Oh, so I’ll be in NYC soon and I’m not even going to see the lady~I’ll give her a wave from a distance for you, but it doesn’t fit in with our plans.😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • themeltdownblog says:

      Ahh, yes I believe he was fashioned after Martain Freeman’s Watson. We have an abundance of Star Wars Funko’s, its ridiculous!
      Forbidden Island is such a frustrating game!!! 😑😑😑 gah lee, last time we played we almost had everyone off the island than someone pulled the sink card or whichever it was that made the island sink. I was So broken after that😂 I think you’d like Ticket to Ride and Love Letter.. ooo and Sheriff of Nottingham!

      Like

  2. Julie Johnson says:

    How cool! I love your collections! My husband is right there with you on the hanitizer collection. He uses that stuff about 100 times a day. Honolulu Sun is his personal fave. I enjoy the marshmallow ones. I love seeing your fandoms too. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sandra Lewrey says:

    I love this! I…don’t really actually collect anything. I’ve got multiples of stuff, sure, but nothing I keep my eye out for that’s my “thing,” you know? How very weird, now that I’m thinking about it!

    I love the Alice in Wonderland obsession. I’ve got a bit of one myself, although I really, really don’t care for the source material. I think it might be one of those things that I like the idea of more than I like it? Loved studying Lewis Carroll in university, though – when you start digging down into his background, everything begins making SO much more sense! You know, the kind of sense one makes when one is off their nut on opium 22 hours out of the day.

    I used to love this horribly messed up video game called Alice: Madness Returns. One of those American McGee games (they also did Spawn, if that gives you any reference.) Alice’s story told through much, MUCH more violent means. I can’t say I really enjoyed the storytelling through-line, but the artwork was INCREDIBLE. It’s the most gorgeous game I’ve ever seen.

    Liked by 1 person

    • themeltdownblog says:

      I think that is me too, I like the idea of Alice and Wonderland more than really the book/movies. Probably the same with Oz. Like I said, I’m a whimsical geek.
      Oh my husband always jokes about how trippy the whole idea is and how he was definitely on something to even come up with the idea of wonderland.
      I think I’ve heard of Spawn but the other game you speak of is new to me, I will have to read up on it.
      I love most of A&W artwork.

      Like

Leave a Reply

