The Meltdown Challenge: Main Course

Here on The Meltdown, we’ve now had a challenge that incorporated scents into blends such as a  dessert and drink so now the only thing missing to finish this meal off is the main course. The challenge for myself this week is to make a dinner/food blend leaning more towards the savory side than the sweet if all possible.

 

20170622_180858

 

The Menu For Today:

Elephants Deli Tomato Orange Soup (It is a thing look it up!)  
Side of Cornbread Muffins

 

20170622_180341

Ingredients:

  •  Pizza Time by Super TartsBasil, Raspberry & Tomato Leaf.
  • Sweet Orange & Chili Pepper by Dessa’s Home Spun Scents-Sweet & spicy fusion of juicy oranges and fiery chili pepper.
  • Down Home Muffins by Wilma’s Handmade– Good ol’ southern buttery sweet corn bread muffins! This is not your average corn bread scent.

 

20170622_173928

Combined together this isn’t terrible though I wouldn’t call it my favorite either. Taking three fragrances that aren’t my cup of tea to begin with, mixing them all together and expecting them to magically be amazing is a shot in the dark. This blend comes together as more of a soup with the watery notes of the fresh orange and the spices of chili pepper from Dessa’s while the base or meat and potatoes if you will (not technically), of the soup coming from the tomato leaf. Who would have thought to mix orange and tomatoes together for a soup and having it actually work!? Warming by the licks of the tea lights candle wick, the ‘soup’ simmers and boils bringing a dinner time feel to my home.

I feel that having a form of bread when eating soup is a must whether it be crackers, bread or cornbread.(NOTE: Peanut butter sandwiches are the best with/dipped in vegetable soup!) Having Wilma’s Down Home Muffins on hand helped in deciding our side.  Cornbread it is! The cornbread added a bakery, cornmeal type aroma to aid in thickening our soup while distributing its buttery goodness throughout the tomato juice.

 

 

In the end this was an interesting blend to play around with. Not one that I would melt again for the heck of it but if you enjoy a good savory scent give this one a try!

 

Until Next Melt,

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “The Meltdown Challenge: Main Course

    • themeltdownblog says:

      Oh it is a must! It must be a southern thing lol, when soup is involved it is either peanut butter (with syrup or honey mixed in to smooth it out) or pimento cheese sandwhiches. I prefer peanut butter. Usually you do the initial fold over sandwhich to dip lol

      Like

      • Sandra Lewrey says:

        Ooh, I’m with you on pimento cheese – that’s guh-ood stuff. I always think – but have never tried it myself – that it would be great with, like, very thinly sliced apples on a sandwich or a cheese board of some kind.

        Oh man, I’m so hungry now!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sandra Lewrey says:

        Fondue! Oh, man, none of this conversation is helping my dietary resolve in the face of delicious, life-sustaining cheese…ugh, aside from butter, I think it might be the best food on earth.

        Liked by 1 person

      • themeltdownblog says:

        Oh! I’m so sorry girl! Lol. Let’s stop. Haha. Though do you like chicken breast and tenders? Because I have been making cornflake crusted tenders and baking it and it gets super crispy! Even my husband loves it. All I use is the chicken dipped in egg whites than in crushed cornflakes and what ever season you choose to season. Super yummy and not that terrible for you.

        Like

      • Sandra Lewrey says:

        Ooh, I love cornflake-crusted chicken, it’s super yummy and you’re totally right, not that bad for you, especially if you go the egg white wash route. Thanks for reminding me that I’ve got a ziplock bag of Cornflakes in the cupboard!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment