MeltDown Challange- Create A Blend- Dollar Store Wax 

I knew this would be a bit of a challenge and would be fun to try with their limited scent choices. I had made a trip to my Dollar Tree with no luck and than my local Family Dollar with only a few takeaways. Past experiences with Dollar General, I knew that they had a better selection of wax (especially come fall!) So to keep it interesting I kept away this round. 

Above were most of the wax melt options that were at my Family Dollar. Most of these held a strong plastic odor with little to no fragrance oils on cold throw. With limited options on clamshell melts, I assumed I would probably have to chunk up a candle or two if I wanted to blend. Most of the candles were the Starburst brand candles. I decided against using them as I felt that it would have been almost cheating and too easy since they are name brand and were stronger on cold than the wax melts themselves. 

Here is what I came home with: 

Cinnamon Coffee Cake-

This is not half bad on cold sniff. Spicy cinnamon sticks grinded into a fine powder to garnish the top of  a vanilla bakery with top notes of risen yeast. 


 

Mulberry Plum

More of a sugared plum and candied berry sugar type than a true plum and mulberry.

 


Vanilla Icing-

Not much of a scent present other than a very, very light whipped vanilla. I plan to chunk up one of these and add it to my blend. 

Not my favorite choice of scents to blend but hey, maybe it just might work? Fruity bakery? 
As I figured the cinnamon was the only aroma detected in this but even it was super light with the most dominate being a strong melting plastic note. Not sure if I’ll melt these alone next or if I’ll just move on and be done with them. 

What is some of your favorite retail wax? 
Until Next Melt, 

2 thoughts on “MeltDown Challange- Create A Blend- Dollar Store Wax 

  1. Sandra Lewrey says:

    The Scentsationals brand (Walmart here in Canada at least) is pretty decent, and they have a Fall combo pack called Home Baked (I think) that is amazing – I bought two last year, and I never do that. And this’ll just sound snobby, but it is what it is – all dollar store wax to me smells like plastic, because it is plastic. So yuck.

    Liked by 1 person

    • themeltdownblog says:

      I knew it probably wouldn’t go well but I thought eh, what the heck. Though I couldn’t help but fear nasty plastic chemicals I was probably breathing in. Though let’s face it, all wax probably has some sort of chemical we aren’t supposed to breathe at some point.
      I love Scentsationals and Better Homes & Gardens aka, Wal-Mart wax!

      Like

Leave a Reply

